States continue to develop standards, guidance and goals for PFAS. The ITRC has updated its table for PFAS in groundwater, drinking water and surface water/effluent to reflect the values in effect as of August 31, 2020. A graphic depicting the states that have set standards, guidance or goals is set forth below.

PFAS - State Survey Litigation Map

Source: ITRC PFAS Fact Sheets updated as of August 31, 2020

Highlights are as follows:

24 states have standards, guidance or goals

  • 17 states have promulgated standards
    • Alaska, California, Colorado, Indiana, Iowa, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oregon, Rhode Island, Texas and Vermont
  • 7 states have guidance or clean-up goals
    • Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Maine, Nevada, Ohio, and Pennsylvania

9 states have standards, guidance or goals for only PFOA/PFOS

  • Alaska, California, Delaware, Florida, Iowa, Montana, New York, Pennsylvania, and Rhode Island

14 states have standards, guidance or goals for PFAS in addition to PFOA/PFOS

  • Colorado, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Michigan, Maine, Minnesota, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, North Carolina, Ohio, Oregon, Texas, and Vermont (Indiana regulates only PFBS)

Groundwater standards vary greatly

  • The PFOA drinking water standard in Michigan is 8 ppt and in North Carolina it is 2,000 ppt

The trend is to set more stringent standards – recent standards are among the lowest

  • Michigan MCLs effective August 3, 2020 are PFOA 8 ppt, PFOS 16 ppt, and PFNA 6 ppt

New York MCls effective August 26, 2020 are PFOA 10 ppt and PFOS 10 ppt